About Us

Artistic Director: Noel Edison

Noel Edison- credit Sophie Hogan 2014
Noel Edison is well established as one of the most versatile and charismatic conductors in the world today. As the conductor and artistic director of two world-class Canadian ensembles, the large-scale Toronto Mendelssohn Choir and the chamber-sized Elora Singers, Edison is widely recognised and appreciated for his skillful, interpretive work with both choir and orchestra. Twenty members of the Elora Singers serve as the professional core of the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir.

A native of Toronto, Edison moved to the scenic village of Elora, where, in 1979, he co-founded the Elora Festival and, a year later, the Elora Singers as its choir-in-residence. Since 1984, Edison has served as Artistic Director of the Elora Festival as well as Organist and Choirmaster of one of the few all-professional church choirs in Canada at the Church of St. John the Evangelist in Elora. In 1988, he established the Elora Festival Orchestra.

In 2002 the University of Guelph conferred upon Noel the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Music, and on January 22, 2009, he was appointed to the Order of Ontario, the province’s highest honour.

The Elora Singers

The Elora Singers, an all-professional Grammy- and JUNO-nominated chamber choir was founded in 1980 by Noel Edison. Since 1997, the choir has been the core of the large-scale Toronto Mendelssohn Choir and the chamber-sized Mendelssohn Singers and is the choral ensemble-in-residence of the Elora Festival for three weeks each summer. Through regular concert series, recordings, and touring, the Elora Singers has established a reputation as one of the finest chamber choirs in Canada. With twelve releases on the NAXOS label, the Elora Singers is known for its rich, warm sound and clarity of texture. The choir is renowned for its diverse styles, for its commitment to Canadian repertoire, and for its collaborations with other Canadian artists.

“The Elora Singers” is a registered charity, number 13580 7824 RR0001

2017/2018 The Elora Singers

Katy Clark
Rebecca Genge
Jennifer Krabbe
Lindsay McIntyre
Teresa Mahon
Julia Morson
Kate Wright
Julia Barber
Kirsten Fielding
Nellie Scholtes
Christina Stelmacovich

Chris Fischer
Bryan Rankine
Steve Surian
Steve Szmutni
Andrew Walker
James Bourne
Michael Cressman
Jeff Enns
Paul Grambo
Richard Hrytzak
Lawrie McEwan

2017/2018 – Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, Elora Singers professional core

Lesley Bouza
Joanne Chapin
Lindsay McIntyre
Teresa Mahon
Julia Morson
Kate Wright
Julia Barber
Kirsten Fielding
Jessica Wright
Claudia Lemcke

Mitch Aldrich
Nicholas Gough
Valdis Jevtejevs
Steve Szmutni
Andrew Walker
Bradley Christensen
Richard Hrytzak
Matthew Li
Lawrie McEwan
Jordan Scholl
David Yung


Noel Edison O. Ont., B. Mus., D. Mus, Artistic Director
Christopher Sharpe, General Manager–  x 7412
Esther Farrell, Elora Singers’ Manager & Librarian —  x 7411
Suzanne Kienapple, Tour Manager
Jared Davison, Marketing & Communications —  x 7413
Kate Hoad-Reddick, Senior Staff Assistant & Marketing Support
Dawn Randall, Patron Services Manager– x7400
Jane Rapp, Volunteer Coordinator   x 7414
Trisha Lee, Bookkeeper —  x 7410

Board of Directors

Chris Houston, Past Chair

John Spearn, Chair
Kevin Embree, Treasurer
Charlotte Logan, Secretary
Bonnie Cooper
Kate Stanley
Duncan Hossack
Trace Molson
Laura Robertson
Jim Pernfuss

SoundCloud YouTube Pinterest Twitter Facebook